J A Garrett

Curiously nerdy posts.

Weight update.

So, here’s an update on my quest to lose weight.

It’s been two weeks since I set out on my quest to achieve better fitness levels and lose weight, in spite of the amount of sitting I have to do, considering that I am an aspiring writer and a hardcore gamer (that’s a lot of sitting, folks). The last thing I want is to end up like this guy:

 

So, two weeks ago I started at 236 pounds. That first weekend, I lost about a pound between exercise and watching what I ate. I fell off the wagon through the weekdays, and gained the weight back. I was treading water. I got kind of upset, and decided to turn my quest up a notch. To do that would have to take it to another extreme, one that I didn’t take lightly.

Yep, ladies and gents. I joined the ranks of those who actually count every calorie they eat. I’d always resisted doing this, because I thought it would be a lot more hassle than it was worth. I thought there was no way I’d be able to document everything I ate. Not to mention – all that work!

Still, I obviously needed to change my approach a bit. I’m not putting myself on an official diet or anything. I just use simple math: I can consume 1880 calories in a given day. As long as I come under that number, I can have anything I want. It’s funny to say, but this simple change has changed the way I eat, and look at food, in a dramatic way in the span of just one week.

And with the advent of the internet and apps, counting calories has become really, really easy. The site I use, Myfitnesspal.com, even has a built in database of a surprising variety of foods, both homemade and chain restaurants, so you don’t even have to be the one eying the caloric labels on everything you eat.

SO. Bottom line. I started counting calories this time last week. I weighed 236.4 pounds at the time.

How much do I weigh now, with this simple change in philosophy?

Well, this morning I weighed in at 232.8 pounds.

I’ll keep updating it as it happens, but my quest to 200 pounds suddenly looks less daunting. It’s not about being radical, it’s not about starving yourself, or working out until you drop….

It’s about being consistent. Day in, day out. If you’re reading this, and want to lose weight too, just remember that. It’s not as scary as you might think.

 

2 comments on “Weight update.

  1. Grace
    August 16, 2013

    awesome!! dieting is crucial! good work 🙂

  2. bubblecouple
    August 24, 2013

    I love myfitnesspal – the app with the barcode scanner is ace. Good luck – great start =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2013 by in I hate running. and tagged , , , .
Leigh's Notes

A URL instead of Sticky Yellow Squares

gaygeeks.wordpress.com/

Authors, Artists, Geeks, Husbands

BaileyBee

The Hive

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Kate Beth Heywood

Author of the savagely funny debut novel, Anti-Social Media

Leona's Blog of Shadows

Book reviews and writing related stuff

Sought After Blood Lines

Fantasy & Romance Book | Excerpts & Teasers Galore!

Wars and Politics of Ice and Fire

Political, Military and Historical Analysis of A Song of Ice and Fire

Rambling&Ranting

Reviews of everything inbetween

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

ELLIS NELSON BOOKS

young adult, middle grade, children's books

BluChickenNinja

I have no idea what I'm doing

Rebirth of Whimsy

Exploring words and worlds

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

